Posted in Uncategorized

Learning to “Be” Quiet

I am a person who loves to talk. Mainly because, talking allows me to understand things  I’ve, more than likely, been trying to solve in my mind. The issue with this is, I leave a lot of space open for feeling irritated, and frustrated, by another’s lack of interest. In reality, no one really cares what you are talking about unless it applies to them in some form.

So why do I, or we, continue to talk when people are the least bit concerned?  

I explored this reasoning today when I was talking with a friend. She seemed really unconcerned and more along the lines of irritated. I, trying to be a “good” friend, probed by asking her what was wrong. I even went as far as telling her my thoughts about her silence. How frustrating right? Why couldn’t I just leave it alone? Well, I believe it has a lot to do with not knowing, so I pursued and pushed even though I should have just allowed myself to “be” quiet. To “be” is miraculous in itself.

To “be” for me is to release all things to allow myself to “be” in the moment. It is a relief and present that is experienced when we just allow things to flow by resisting not. A perfect way to “be” is to “be” quiet. If you are like me, then you probably feel extremely exposed when you talk too much- because you are. It is unhealthy to talk so much. It is beneficial to “be” quiet because it allows you to experience the present in perfect harmony. Chatter takes you out of the present and into another dimension that is loud.

the “present” the “gift” 

One lesson that can be taken from my experience is , “much talk invites much hurt.” The less you talk the more peace you draw and the more abundant you become. Today, I want to share with you all who can relate. Think deep and hard about why you talk so much and what the outcome of talking too much is. I hope you can find the peace you need in “being” quiet sometimes.

 

SunFlowerIAM

sunflower

Bloom where you are!

2 thoughts on “Learning to “Be” Quiet

  1. I love this because I know at times I talk waaaaay too much. I want to develop more self control by learning to “not talk” I would definitely need to take baby steps. But I gotta start somewhere.

    Like

Leave a comment